Concealed Pistol License

Currently the Police Community Services Building is closed to the public to help slow the spread of Covid-19. 

Concealed Pistol License Renewals and Late Renewals: Please print, fill out and sign the attached form and then mail to the Pasco Police Department located at 215 W. Sylvester Street Pasco, WA 99301 along with a copy of your Washington Drivers License with current address and a copy of your current Concealed Pistol License. 

Original Concealed Pistol License Applications: Staring September 8th, 2020, the Pasco Police Support Operations will start accepting Original Concealed Pistol License Applications.  These applications require fingerprints be taken at the time the application is submitted.  

In order to have fingerprints taken you must schedule an appointment in advance by calling the Records Division at (509) 545-3421. Only one person will be allowed in the facility for each appointment.

Fingerprint services will be provide Monday – Friday between the hours of 9:00 am and 2:00 pm.

When you arrive for the appointment, please have the application filled out along with valid ID and call (509) 545-3421 and a Records Service Specialist will meet you outside of the building and escort you inside the facility.   

MASKS ARE REQUIRED for this service.

Additional fingerprinting services will not be provided at this time.We appreciate your patience as we work to keep our community and staff safe during this time. 

*Please open the following link in Google Chrome for best user experience

Concealed Pistol License Application

By law, a concealed pistol license is required when a person is carrying a pistol concealed on their person or carrying or placing a loaded pistol in a vehicle. RCW 9.41.070 addresses the law relating to concealed pistol licenses.

Applicants are required to complete and sign the Pasco Police Departments CPL form. CPL’s are normally issued within 30 days of filing. Fingerprints for original applications may be taken Monday through Friday, 9:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. (excluding holidays).

Prior to filling out the CPL form, the applicant should be advised that:

  • He/she must reside within the limits of the city of Pasco. (Non-Washington residents may apply at any law enforcement agency in the state.)
  • He/she must be at least 21 years of age; picture ID is required.
  • He/she must be a U.S. citizen or have an alien firearms license.
  • If found not to qualify for a CPL, by statute, the $49.25 fee is non-refundable.
  • CPL’s are valid for 5 years from the date of issue and a renewal notice will not be sent; therefore, it is the holders’ responsibility to ensure their license has not expired.

A. ORIGINAL applicants will have one complete set of fingerprints taken and a fee of $49.25 collected. The non-refundable fee will be paid upon application.

B. RENEWAL applicants must have applied before the expiration date of the current license. The renewal fee is $32.00.

C. LATE RENEWAL applicants applying within 90 days after the expiration date must pay a penalty of $10.00 in addition to the renewal fee of $32.00.

D. REPLACEMENTS are $10.00.

 WASHINGTON STATE PROHIBITIVE CRIMES

1. Conviction or adjudication for any felony offense in this state or elsewhere.

2. Any of the following crimes when committed by one family or household member against another, committed on or after July 1, 1993:

  • Assault in the fourth degree;
  • Coercion;
  • Stalking;
  • Reckless endangerment in the second degree;
  • Criminal trespass in the first degree;
  • Violation of the provisions of a protection order or no-contact order restraining the person or excluding the person from a residence.

Additional CPL prohibitors include any felony, domestic violence or narcotics convictions; a warrant, a Brady NCO; a pending trial, appeal or sentence on a charge that would prohibit you from having a CPL. A person shall not be considered to have been convicted of such an offense if the conviction has been expunged; the person has been pardoned for such offense or had their firearm rights restored.

STATE AND FEDERAL LAWS
Although state and local laws are similar, federal law and state law on possession of firearms differ. If you are prohibited by federal law from possession of a firearm, you may be prosecuted in federal court. A state license is not a defense to a federal prosecution. Federal law additionally prohibits the receiving of a firearm by persons who are unlawful users of, or addicted to, narcotics or other controlled substances; persons of unsound mind, adjudicated mentally defective, or who have been committed to a mental institution. Federal law also prohibits persons receiving firearms who have been dishonorably discharged from the Armed Forces, aliens illegally or unlawfully in the U.S., or anyone convicted of, or under indictment for a felony crime punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding one year to the extent the law of the state of convictions bars possession of a firearm. Local laws and ordinances on firearms are pre-empted by state laws and be consistent with state law.